The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Workforce Development Committee

2024 Workforce Development Committee Roster

Formerly the Manpower Development Committee, the Workforce Development Committee is concerned with maintaining and expanding skill as the cornerstone of this specialty contracting industry. Provision of an adequate supply of skill is vital to the industry and production of skill in this complex mechanical trade demands supervision, variety of experience and instruction. The continuing review of conditions and factors bearing upon effective support and execution of activities that meet this basic requirement of the industry is within the scope of this Committee. The Committee makes recommendations to the Board of Governors and provides leadership in promoting these recommended programs. The National Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee recommends training programs to the industry for adoption. Labor and management have found that these programs and recommended procedures can best be handled cooperatively by local apprenticeship and training committees which are equally represented by both parties. NECAs Workforce Development Committee members also serve as the management representatives to the NJATC.


Shawn Smith, Chair
Vice President, District 5
DL Smith Electric
Topeka, KS
Jeffrey T Barber
Mahoning Valley Chapter
Girard, OH

Chrys Fleming
Alaska Chapter

Alcon Electric
Anchorage, AK
Greg Gossett
Central Indiana Chapter
Indianapolis, IN

Ron Guarienti
Southern Colorado Chapter
Pueblo Electric's Inc
Pueblo, CO
David J Helsel
East Central California Chapter
Collins Electrical Company Inc
Fresno, CA

Marcus W McPhee
Connecticut Chapter
McPhee Electric Ltd
Farmington, CT
Tom Parkes
Northeastern Line Constructors Chapter
O'Connell Electric Company
Lancaster, NY

Ted Robertson
Southeast Texas Chapter
Fisk Electric Company
Houston, TX
Brian Spader
Dakotas Chapter
Thompson Electric Company
Sioux Falls, SD

Martin West
Northeast Louisiana Chapter
Twin City Electric LLC
West Monroe, LA
Ian Andrews, Secretary (and Treasurer, electrical training ALLIANCE)
Executive Director of Field and Industrial Labor Relations
Washington, DC

David Long, Trustee (electrical training ALLIANCE)
Chief Executive Officer
Washington, DC