The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Codes & Standards Committee

The NECA Codes and Standards Committee is involved with development, administration, and enforcement of installation codes, safety standards, product standards, and other related industry regulations. This includes, but is not limited to, the National Electrical Code (NEC®), National Electrical Installation Standards (NEIS™), National Electrical Safety Code (NESC), Various NFPA Standards, UL Safety Standards, and OSHA Regulations. Members of the NECA Codes and Standards Committee serve on National Electrical Code-Making Panels, NEIS Technical Subcommittees, and other standards development committees and subcommittees.


NECA’s role in the standards development process is important to the electrical industry, as it has been for over one hundred years. NECA is the voice of installers and maintainers at the NEC hearings and is a vital part of developing Code rules that are understandable, practical, and enforceable. NECA takes this responsibility very seriously and values the opportunity to serve the industry working with NFPA in the development of the NEC and other key electrical industry standards.

The NECA representatives are appointed to technical committees to represent the interests of the electrical contractor in electrical code and standard development. NECA representatives provide the voice of electrical contractors including installers and maintainers. The NFPA technical committee membership classification of NECA representatives is I/M which stands for Installer/Maintainer. This classification provides representation of entities in the business of installing or maintaining a product, assembly, or system affected by the standard. The NECA representatives are responsible for taking part in the discussions and debates at the meetings and hearings of the committee during the cycle of development. NECA representatives participate in this open consensus process and vote in the best interest of electrical contractors and their employees.


2021 Codes & Standards Committee Roster

David Washebek, Chair

Vice President District 4
Lemberg Electric Company Inc
Brookfield, WI

Nathan Philips

Oregon-Pacific-Cascade Chapter
Integrated Electronic Systems
Eugene, OR

Edward Acosta

Los Angeles County Chapter
Morrow Meadows Corporation
City of Industry, CA

Adam Ashton

Northern New Jersey Chapter
Forest Electric Corporation
Edison, NJ

Steve Poholski

Michigan Chapter
Newkirk Electric Associates Inc
Muskegon, MI

Michael Cannady

Michigan Chapter
Newkirk Electric Associates Inc
Muskegon, MI

Tony Punzalan

Connecticut Chapter
McPhee Electric Ltd
Farmington, CT

Mashell D Carissimi

Southeastern Michigan Chapter
JMC Electrical Contractor LLC
Clinton Township, MI

Don Rabel

Southeast Texas Chapter
Mid-West Electric Co Inc
Houston, TX

Jake Raines

Inland Empire Chapter
Sierra Electric Inc
Pasco, WA

Harry J Sassaman

Northern New Jersey Chapter
Forest Electric Corporation
Edison, NJ

Shane Custer

South Texas Chapter
Big State Electric
San Antonio, TX

Timothy J Schultheis II

Western Pennsylvania Chapter
Schultheis Electric / TSB Inc
Latrobe, PA

Robert Davies Jr

San Diego Chapter
Davies Electric Company Inc
San Diego, CA

David Hendershot

Dakotas Chapter
Main Electric Construction Inc
Minot, ND

Bruce D Shelly

Pen-Del-Jersey Chapter
Shelly Electric Company Inc
Philadelphia, PA

Steven Emert

Santa Clara Valley Chapter
Rosendin Electric
San Jose, CA

Michael W Smith

Arizona Chapter
K & F Electric, INC.
Fenton, MO

Larry Geyer

Idaho Chapter
Quality Electric Inc.
Boise , ID

Diane Lynch

Rocky Mountain Chapter
Sturgeon Electric Company Inc
Henderson, CO

Philip Ostrow

Central Massachusetts Chapter
Ostrow Electrical Company Inc
Worcester, MA

Bobby J. Gray

Inland Empire Chapter
Hoydar-Buck Inc
Selah, WA

Raymond Smith

North Florida Chapter
Cogburn Bros Electric Inc
Jacksonville, FL

Tim Hinson

North Florida Chapter
Miller Electric Company
Jacksonville, FL

Clint Summers

Santa Clara Valley Chapter
Rosendin Electric
San Jose, CA

Kyle Krueger

Milwaukee Chapter
Wauwatosa, WI

Richard W Tice

Mahoning Valley Chapter
T-Squared Electrical LLC
Brookfield, OH

Kelly Lamp

Idaho Chapter
Boise, ID

John Tirone

South Florida Chapter
Tirone Electric, Inc.
Hollywood, FL

Haley Masbruch

Southwest Washington Chapter
Danard Electric Inc.
Tacoma, WA

Michael P Weaver

Oregon-Pacific-Cascade Chapter
M & W Electric Inc
Albany, OR

Scott Masters

Penn-Del-Jersey Chapter
Matrix NAC
Eddystone, PA

Jason Wolf

Iowa Chapter
ESCO Electric Company
Marion , IA

Paul J Yesbeck

South Florida Chapter
ACU Sign Corp
Weston, FL

Fred Neubauer

Los Angeles County Chapter
Neubauer Electric Inc
Los Alamitos, CA

Michael J Johnston, Secretary

Executive Director, Standards & Safety
Washington, DC

Timothy O'Brien

San Diego County Chapter
Chula Vista Electric
Santee, CA

Wesley L Wheeler

Director, Safety
Washington, DC

Agnieszka Golriz, Assistant Secretary

Director, Codes and Standards
Washington, DC