The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

McGraw Award

This award was established in 1926 by the McGraw Committee of Awards. This Award is presented to a person from the electrical contracting industry who is adjudged to have made a contribution to the industry of some new and useful idea or to have performed an industry service over and above his/her normal responsibilities to his/her own or company's progress.

NECA McGraw Award


In 1925, James. H. McGraw, principal in the McGraw-Hill empire, established an annual award to encourage constructive thinking for the advancement of the electrical industry. From 1925–1990, this award was sponsored by McGraw-Hill. In 1991, NECA was granted permission by the McGraw family to assume sponsorship of the Award for electrical contracting.

The James H. McGraw award is given in recognition of the most important personal contribution of progress in the electrical industry. To qualify, the candidate shall have contributed an idea or constructive service to the advancement of the industry, over and above their own responsibilities toward their company's progress.

Nominations are accepted no later than May 1, and the Award is announced after the Executive Committee's decision at their June meeting.

2023Michael ParkesRochester, NY
2022Joseph KaluhiokalaniCherry Hill, NJ
2021Henry BrownJacksonville, FL
2020Donald G. LaffoonRaytown, MO
2019Greg GossettIndianapolis, IN
2018Skip PerleySioux City, IA
2017Steve DiamondSkokie, IL
2016Sonja RheaumePortland, OR
2015George AdamsPortland, OR
2014Stan LazarianPasadena, CA
2013Mark MazurTampa, FL
2012Thomas M. WoldenCloverdale, VA
2011Daniel PalmerDavenport, IA
2010Jonathan "Russ" BordenSouth Florida Chapter
2009Max LandonPortland, OR
2008Larry CogburnJacksonville, FL
2007Ron AutreyJacksonville, FL
2006David F. FirestoneLincoln, NE
2005Not Awarded 
2004Jerrold H. NixonSkokie, IL
2003Douglas L. OlsonBrooklyn Park, MN
2002Charles E. Mink, Jr.Knoxville, TN
2001Hugh D. “Buz” AllisonPortland, OR
2000Edward T. McPhee, Jr.Farmington, CT
1999Richard R. Pieper, Sr.Milwaukee, WI
1998James J. McGlynn, Sr.Lombard, IL
1997D.L. SmithTopeka, KS
1996Albert G. WendtPhoenix, AZ
1995Walter T. ParkesVictor, NY
1994Gary PricePortland, OR
1993Eugene C. GiniStockton, CA
1992Jack ButtrumEvansville, IN
1991Robert L. PfeilSouth Bend, IN
1990Moyes LucasEverett, WA
1989Edwin B. Coughlin, Jr.Worcester, MA
1988J. Robert PritchardHuntington, WV
1987Arthur M. TiesoSt. Paul, MN
1986Robert L. WilkinsonRockville, MD
1985Richard G. BiermannDes Moines, IA
1984Clyde BeimfohrGranite City, IL
1983H.E. AutreyJacksonville, FL
1982Robert L. BauerPhiladelphia, PA
1981Fred B. SargentPittsburgh, PA
1980Frank H. BertkeCincinnati, OH
1979Carl T. HinoteBeaumont, TX
1978Emerson HamiltonEugene, OR
1977Charles W. StroupeCharlotte, NC
1976Gerald WadleighIndianapolis, IN
1975Robert W. ColganToledo, OH
1974C.C. WeissDenver, CO
1973Davis H. ElliotRoanoke, VA
1970Richard W. OsbornSt. Louis, MO
1969Kurt BrammerChicago, IL
1968Paul L. BriggsSpokane, WA
1967Floyd McCartyColumbus, OH
1966Wallace J. O'BrienDes Plaines, IL
1965Charles I. BerrellSalt Lake City, UT
1964Norman D. FergusonSan Diego, CA
1963Harold A. WebsterNew York, NY
1962Charles P. BobeSt. Louis, MO
1961Charles W. MosleyCharlotte, NC
1960Denis J. CrimminsNew York, NY
1955Don B. ClaytonBirmingham, AL
1954Oliver F. BurnettPinetop, AZ
1953E.C. CarlsonYoungstown, OH
1948Laurence W. DavisOakland, CA
1947J. Walter CollinsChicago, IL
1946George AndraeMilwaukee, WI
1941Robert W. McChesneyWashington, DC
1940A. Lincoln BushNew York, NY
1939Ralph M. WalkerAtlanta, GA
1937George W. PattersonToronto, CAN
1931George D. MungerPoughkeepsie, NY
1930Louis KalischerBrooklyn, NY
1929John H. KuhlmeyerChicago, IL
1928N. Jay BiddleDetroit, MI
1927Joseph A. FowlerMemphis, TN
1926Louis K. ComstockNew York, NY