The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Comstock Award

This award was established by action of the Board of Governors in 1959 in honor of L.K. Comstock to honor any person who is adjudged to have made an outstanding contribution to the industry through the Association in the field of Labor Relations.

Image of the NECA Comstock Award


This Award was established by the National Electrical Contractors Association in 1959, announced in the form of a testimonial to Louis K. Comstock, New York City, an Honorary Member of the Association since 1941. Comstock was the NECA member credited with helping to establish the Council on Industrial Relations.

Each year, the Comstock Award is presented to a NECA member who has made the greatest contribution in the field of Labor Relations. This person shall have contributed an idea or performed a service which has proven to be particularly beneficial in the Labor Relations field.

Nominations are accepted no later than May 1, and the Award is announced after the Executive Committee's decision at their June meeting.

2023Alan ScharfeCambridge, MA
2022Michael B. JoyceBedford Heights, OH
2021Larry BeltramoSan Jose, CA
2020Shane SnyderPhoenix, AZ
2019Mark WalterPortland, OR
2018Edward Witt, Jr.Jacksonville, FL
2017Joseph TucciPuyallup, WA
2016Hermon MiltonBaker, LA
2015Dennis QuebeDayton, OH
2014Rex FerryWarren, OH
2013Tim GauthierPortland, OR
2012G. Wallace HookMichigan City, IN
2011John R. ColsonHouston, TX
2010John NegroCedar Rapids, IA
2009Rod BordenMiami, FL
2008Jerry NixonSkokie, IL
2007Robert J. BruceNew Castle, PA
2006Robert EgiziiSpringfield, IL
2005Walter T. ParkesVictor, NY
2004Edward E. Witt, Sr.Jacksonville, FL
2003James L. PetersonColorado Springs, CO
2002Terry R. ButzRolling Meadows, IL
2001Franklin D. RussellMobile, AL
2000D. L. SmithTopeka, KS
1999E. A. PastorDaytona Beach, FL
1998Jerome S. HillMadison, WI
1997J. R. Cleveland, Jr.Atlanta, GA
1996William J. "Doc" WeaverSalt Lake City, UT
1995Lester O. Wuerfl, Jr.New York, NY
1994Albert G. WendtPhoenix, AZ
1993Leo WeberSt. Paul, MN
1992Robert DoranLeavenworth, KS
1991Thomas R. Hanlon, Jr.Monroeville, PA
1990Morton D. HoffmanNew York, NY
1989Emerson HamiltonEugene, OR
1988Robert W. HainesShawnee, KS
1988William N. CooperEvansville, IN
1988Robert L. BauerPhiladelphia, PA
1987Robert B. HoppeShreveport, LA
1986Mark W. HughesMcLean, VA
1985Wesley C. OhmanSt. Paul, MN
1984Robert L. HigginsBethesda, MD
1983Aldo P. LeraSan Francisco, CA
1982Frank H. BertkeCincinnati, OH
1981William Sloan GriffinOwnesboro, KY
1980Frank HawkinsMobile, AL
1979H.E. AutreyJacksonville, FL
1978William F. HillsmanSan Mateo, CA
1977Robert W. ColganToledo, OH
1976Charles L. Scharfe, Jr.New York, NY
1975Charles C. NelsonLubbock, TX
1974Dr. John T. DunlopWashington, DC
1973Charles ScholiboKerrville, TX
1971S.J. CristianoJamestown, NJ
1970L. R. McCordSouthfield, MI
1969Stanley S. AdamsPortland, OR
1968William F. MillerBaytown, TX
1967Dan M. GephartSt. Paul, MN
1966James LowryCoral Gables, FL
1965Harold A. WebsterNew York, NY
1964P.M. GearyBethesda, MD
1963Jim L. McClureDallas, TX
1962Milton StaubColumbus, OH
1961John S. ClarkSanta Fe, NM
1960E. R. EdenfieldNashville, TN