The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Coggeshall Award

This award was established in 1956 as a result of a bequest to the Association by Allan Coggeshall to honor a member of the Association who is adjudged to have made an outstanding contribution to the progress of the industry in the Technical and Training Service field.

NECA Coggeshall Award

In his will, Allan Coggeshall, a member of the firm Hatzel & Buehler, Inc. in New York City, bequeathed a sum of $2,500 to the National Electrical Contractors Association. In 1956, the NECA Executive Committee established The Coggeshall Award.

This Award is given annually the NECA member adjudged to have made an outstanding contribution to the industry in technical or training activities. To qualify for this Award, the member shall have contributed an idea or performed a service which has proved to be particularly beneficial in the technical or training field.

Nominations are accepted no later than May 1, and the Award is announced after the Executive Committee's decision at their June meeting.


YearRecipientLocation / Company Name:
2022Rick JarvisCity of Industry, CA
2021Earl "Duke" Austin, Jr.Houston, TX
2020Joseph H. BodioNorwood, MA
2019Phillip G. RoseMilwaukee, WI
2018James OlligesLouisville, KY
2017Ron L CogburnJacksonville, FL
2016John S. FrantzSidney, OH
2015Wilson YanceyQuanta Services, Inc.
2014Stanley J. FolzLas Vegas, NV
2013Don W. JhonsonNorth Miami Beach, Florida
2012David LongJacksonville, FL
2011Wayne BrinkmeyerHouston, TX
2010Howard D. HughesFt. Smith, AK
2009Ben W. Nevers, Sr.Bogalusa, LA
2008Greg StewartColumbus, OH
2007David HardtChicago, IL
2006Charles M. TroutHernando, FL
2005Robert GothamPortland, OR
2004Arthur AshleyFerndale, MI
2003Tom G. SmithOklahoma City, OK
2002C. M. "Mike" SloanLaguna Niguel, CA
2001Stephen E. ChiltonSalt Lake City, UT
2000William Terry LindsayChattanooga, TN
1999John J. NegroCedar Rapids, IA
1998Robert L. PfeilSouth Bend, IN
1997Leo McMillanSan Francisco, CA
1996D. R. Borden, Jr.Miami, FL
1995Thomas H. WoodRockford, IL
1994Max E. TalbertMarion, IN
1993Joseph L. IrbyTacoma, WA
1992John L. MussellSanta Maria, CA
1991Albert G. WendtPhoenix, AZ
1990Bill E. CoburnAlbany, OR
1989Charles J. HartBethesda, MD
1988Stanley D. KahnLawrence, NY
1987Donald W. LeslieHauppauge, NY
1986Edward E. HansenChicago, IL
1985James A. HitchcockBridgeton, MO
1984Wayne T. WellsSalt Lake City, UT
1983Ronald J. ToomerBaton Rouge, LA
1982Donald E. CatesJupiter, FL
1981Robert E. Doran, IIILeavenworth, KS
1980Ray O'LearySeattle, WA
1979Hans J. KolbHouston, TX
1978Bernard N. VossTulsa, OK
1977D. Harold WareOklahoma City, OK
1975Kernan R. DennisSeattle, WA
1974W. A. MuskaRoseville, MN
1973D. Bert HaringNew York, NY
1972Allen F. KnickrehnSan Marino, CA
1971Paul M. HenkelsBlue Bell, PA
1970Richard G. BiermannDes Moines, IA
1968N. Ellis Cannady, Jr.Asheville, NC
1967Leslie E. BleyChester, MD
1966Robert G. FramePittsburgh, PA
1965Sidney F. HillLos Angeles, CA
1964W. R. Grasle, Sr.Portland, OR
1963Richard W. OsbornSt. Louis, MO
1962Frank G. CamusShreveport, MO
1961Milton R. MintoNew York, NY
1960Elwood PeeleBurlington, NC
1959Charles P. BobeSt. Louis, MO
1958W. H. Biester, Jr.Philadelphia, PA
1957George AndraeMilwaukee, WI