The Academy of Electrical Contracting Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Friday, June 11, 2021 Virtual Meeting

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

John M. Grau ('86), Secretary

ROLL CALL AND INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 11:30 am with the following present (italics indicate those members **not** in attendance):

Present NECA Officers and Past NECA Presidents

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman	Robert E. Doran III ('81)	Dennis F. Quebe ('06)
H. E. "Buck" Autrey ('73)	Rex A. Ferry ('02)	Vincent Real ('17)
Larry Beltramo ('17)	E. Milner Irvin III ('92)	Earl Restine, Jr. (16)
Dillard R. "Rod" Borden, Jr. ('88)	David Long ('12)	Gregory A. Rick ('12)
Scott Bringmann (09)	Michael E. McPhee ('13)	Jody Shea ('13)
Craig Clark ('14)	Todd Mikec ('14)	Traci M. Walker ('13)
William B. "Ben" Cook, Jr. ('96)	David Nielsen ('19)	David M. Washebek ('20)
Kirk Davis ('11)		

Elected Directors

Terms Expiring 2021	Terms Expiring 2022	Terms Expiring 2023
Larry Cogburn ('09)	Jerry Hayes ('12)	Tom Parkes ('17)
Craig Martin ('09)	Skip Perley ('06)	Clay Scharff ('13)
Doug Martin ('15)	Dan Walsh ('12)	Duane Seifert ('15)
Sonja Rheaume ('16)	Daniel G. Walter ('02)	Paul Yesbeck ('18)

Others Present

John M. Grau, Secretary of the Academy Diane S. Jacobson, Academy Administrator

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 3, 2020 virtual Board of Directors meeting were approved as distributed.

JURY OF FELLOWS REPORT

Jury Chairman Dennis F. Quebe reported on the activities of the Jury and recommended favorable action on the following eleven nominees for Fellowship into the Academy of Electrical Contracting. Their nomination forms have been reviewed at two consecutive meetings of the Jury and they have received unanimous votes on both occasions:

Andrew Berg

San Diego Chapter, NECA

San Diego, CA

Kurt Brinkman

Intrepid Electronic Systems, Inc.

Crockett, CA

Jerri L Champlin

Monterey Bay California Chapter, NECA

Salinas, CA

James A. Engler Engler Electric, Inc.

Utica, NY

Francis "Fran" McDermott

Greater Sacramento Chapter, NECA

Sacramento, CA

Charles Markley "Mark" Melton

Melton Electric, Inc.

Houston, TX

Fred Neubauer

Neubauer Electric, Inc.

Los Alamitos, CA

Loyal D. O'Leary

Wisconsin Chapter, NECA

Madison, WI

Robert D. Rayburn

Milwaukee Chapter, NECA

Wauwatosa, WI

Robert Van Ert

Van Ert Electric Company, Inc.

Wausau, WI

Michael P. Weaver M & W Electric, Inc.

Albany, OR

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved the eleven nominees for induction into the Academy on Sunday, October 10, 2021 in Nashville, TN at the Opening General Session of the NECA Convention.

In addition to those favorably reviewed for the second time at this meeting, the Jury also reviewed nine nominations for their first reading. All nine nominations were approved, and they will be reviewed at next year's meeting for the required second approval.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary John Grau reported on activities of the Academy since the last meeting. He noted the continued success of the new email process for the Annual Registration of Fellows and the mailing of the Academy Roster of Fellows. He also noted the assistance provided in the nomination process and the conduct of the Jury meeting. In addition, three papers have been prepared by Fellows and are ready for presentation at the fall meeting. He thanked the NECA meetings team for their work in planning and rescheduling meetings and expressed appreciation for Academy Administrator Diane Jacobson for her day-to-day management of Academy matters.

Grau noted that this year marks his 35th anniversary of induction into the Academy. While he is stepping down as Academy Secretary, he will continue to be active in the Academy and support new Secretary Traci Walker as needed. He will continue to serve as Secretary of the Jury.

Traci Walker thanked Grau for his service. Along with NECA CEO David Long, she described plans for the upcoming special Academy fall meeting and induction ceremony in conjunction with the NECA Convention in Nashville. She also announced new formats for improved regular communications with Fellows.

ACTION ON REQUESTS FOR FELLOW EMERITUS STATUS

The following nine Fellows have requested Fellow Emeritus Status:

Russ Alessi ('03)

Michael Bender ('10)

Bob Daoust ('01)

Bob Dixon ('91)

Doug Hague ('12)

James Olliges ('18)

Jim Peterson ('96)

B. David Roberts ('13)

David Firestone ('01)

Upon motion made and duly seconded, these Fellows were approved for a change to Emeritus status effective immediately.

FELLOWS NO LONGER WITH THE ACADEMY

Grau reported that the following eight Fellows have passed away since the 2020 Annual Meeting:

Alvin Earl Bassett ('96) Donald E. Lunnon ('80)

Charles L. Fuellgraf, Jr. ('01)

Clifford W. Henderson ('97)

Morton D. Hoffman ('82)

Hermon "H.L." Milton, Jr. ('92)

Charles "Mike" Sloan ('95)

Leo W. Weber, Jr. ('85)

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Hardt appointed the following Fellows as a **Nominating Committee** to present a slate of candidates to all Fellows at the General Meeting for the Board of Directors terms expiring in 2024:

Larry Beltramo ('17), Chair Craig Martin ('09)

Larry Cogburn ('09) Traci M. Walker ('13), Secretary

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Chairman Larry Beltramo reported that the committee met and nominated the following slate:

Wes Anderson ('16) of Springfield, IL Rilo Stephens ('17) of Atlanta, GA
Mike Joyce ('14) of Moreland Hills, OH Jim Willson ('14) of West Covina, CA

Chairman Hardt thanked the committee for their service.

FUTURE MEETINGS

The Chairman reported on the schedule of future meetings as follows:

Convention Dinner - The Country Music Hall of Fame

Nashville, TN

Thursday, October 7, 2021

Business Meeting - TBD

Nashville, TN

Friday, October 8, 2021

Formal Installation of the 2020 and 2021 Academy Inductees - General Opening Session

Nashville, TN

Sunday, October 10, 2021

Annual Summer Meeting - Coeur d'Alene Resort

Coeur d'Alene, ID

June 8-10, 2022

OTHER NEW BUSINESS

John Sha

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:55 am.

John M. Grau ('86)

Secretary