# The Academy of Electrical Contracting General Meeting Minutes June 14, 2019

# Le Chateau Frontenac, Quebec City, Canada

## David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

## J. Michael Thompson ('92), Secretary

## **CALL TO ORDER**

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m. Wes Anderson ('16) led Fellows in the Pledge of Allegiance.

## WELCOME TO NEW FELLOWS

The following Fellows, attending their first annual meeting, were welcomed:

Karl Jensen ('18)

## **MINUTES**

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 9, 2018 General Meeting held in Laguna Beach, California were approved as distributed.

## SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary Thompson requested a moment of silence for the following fifteen Fellows who passed away since the 2018 Annual Meeting:

James K. Baker ('80)

Clyde E. Beimfohr ('78)

Gene S. Duckworth ('99)

Fred B. Dunn ('89)

Francis X. Gleeson ('93)

Wesley S. Harkonen ('96)

Eugene E. Kasal ('88)

John C. Malone ('87)

Charles E. Mink, Jr ('97)

Richard A. Parenti ('15)

Anthony L. Shreve ('94)

Herbert P. Spiegel ('90)

Michael H. Walker ('95)

Thomas H. Wood ('87)

Harris G. (Sandy) Mahan ('01)

Thompson reported on the action by the Board of Directors in approving 16 Fellows for the transfer from **Active to Emeritus status** effective immediately:

George Adams ('10)

Gina Addeo ('13)

Dan Bollin ('08)

Bill Lich ('04)

Bob May ('04)

E. Milner Irvin, III ('98)

Brian Christopher ('02)

Jim Laub ('16)

Bill Powell ('09)

Tom Curran ('06) Don Leslie, Jr ('15) Gary Whitehead ('97)

#### JURY REPORT

Dennis F. Quebe ('06), Chairman of the **Jury of Fellows**, reported on the election of the following eleven nominees for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors because of their unanimous approval at two consecutive reviews by the Jury of Fellows:

Robert Cherry Lewis Maffioli Robert J. Turner, II

Osborn Electric Company Wilson Electric Co Turner Electric Service, Inc

Oklahoma City, OK Rockford, IL Dexter, MI

Bruce A. Creen Marilyn M. Oppedisano Steven Watts

Northeastern Illinois Chapter, Finger Lakes NY Chapter, NECA CSI Electrical Contractors

NECA Liverpool, NY Santa Fe Springs, CA
West Chicago, IL

William Darish Robert Seanger John C. Wright

Al's Electric of St Cloud, Inc Alterman, Inc.

Industrial Electric Co St Cloud, MN San Antonio, TX

Detroit, MI

Hal Sokoloff

Tracy L. Harness H & L Electric

Northwest Line Constructors Long Island City, NY Chapter, NECA

Text messages on behalf of Chairman Hardt, notifying those selected, were sent following the Board of Directors meeting. Confirming letters of congratulation will be mailed on June 17. The text message included an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in Las Vegas, NV for their installation ceremony into the Academy on September 15, 2019 at the Opening General Session.

## PRESENTATION OF PAPERS

Portland, OR

The following papers were presented and are available on the Academy's website:

Our Opportunities and Challenges During a Technological Growth Spurt AND What We Can Do About It - By Skip Perley ('06)

Construction Mis-Management: Can the Electrical Contractor Survive? - By Frank Holleran ('15)

## **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

Chairman Hardt thanked the following Fellows for their service to the Board of Directors from 2017 to 2019: Art Ashley ('04); Ron Autrey ('07); Mark Huston ('14) and Jody Shea ('13). Hardt introduced Larry Beltramo ('17), Chairman of the Nominating Committee. The committee included Ron Autrey ('07), Craig Martin ('09) and John Grau ('86) as Secretary.

Beltramo reported that the committee proposed the following candidates for a three-year term on the Board of Directors (from 2020 through 2022).

Jerry Hayes ('12)
Skip Perley ('06)
Dan Walsh ('12)
Dan Walter ('02)

There being no additional nominations from the floor, the above slate of candidates was elected upon motion duly made and seconded.

#### **FUTURE MEETINGS**

Chairman Hardt announced that the next gathering of the Academy will be a reception for Academy Fellows and companions during the NECA Convention in Las Vegas. New Fellows will be inducted on Sunday morning, September 15, 2019 at the General Session and the Academy reception will be held at the SkyFall Lounge at the Mandalay Bay that evening.

The 2020 annual meeting will be at the Coeur d'Alene Resort in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho from June 4-6. John Grau described opportunities awaiting us in Idaho for next year's annual meeting.

## **SPEAKER**

Our speaker, Michael Beschloss, scheduled to discuss *Presidential History*, was unable to attend the meeting due to last-minute flight cancellations. Accordingly, that part of our program was cancelled.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:46 a.m.

J. Michael Thompson

Muhael Though

Secretary