The Academy of Electrical Contracting General Meeting Minutes June 11, 2016

Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville, North Carolina

Dennis F. Quebe ('06), Chairman

J. Michael Thompson ('92), Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Quebe called the meeting to order at 8:03 a.m. David Roberts ('13) offered an invocation and Alex Owen ('11) led the Pledge of Allegiance.

WELCOME TO NEW FELLOWS

The following Fellows were attending their first annual meeting and were welcomed:

Jeff Cardwell ('15)
Rudolph Dixon, Jr ('15)
Lewis Frain ('15)
Terry W Gipson ('15)
Franklin P Holleran ('15)
James Johannemann ('15)
Donald Leslie, Jr ('15)
Douglas R Martin ('15)
Richard A Parenti ('15)
Duane Seifert ('15)
Wilson Yancey ('15)

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 13, 2015 General Meeting held in Stowe, Vermont were approved as distributed.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary Thompson requested a moment of silence for those **Fellows deceased** since the last meeting:

Robert W Colgan, Sr ('68)

William A Collins ('75)

Charles D Ewton ('11)

Roland K Larsen ('07)

David MacKay ('05)

Michael Mazzeo ('05)

Jack W Welborn ('90)

Robert H Wermer ('84)

Thompson reported on the action by the Board of Directors in approving Fellows for the transfer from **Active to Emeritus status** effective immediately:

H E (Buck) Autrey ('73)

Don Hawes ('81)

Tom Ispas ('11)

Doug Mills ('98)

Doug Olson ('03)

Rocky Sharp ('14)

D L Smith ('89)

Paul Sorensen ('03)

J A (Tony) Walsh ('91)

JURY REPORT

Rex Ferry ('02), Chairman of the **Jury of Fellows**, reported on the election of the following ten candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors as a result of their unanimous approval at two consecutive reviews by the Jury of Fellows:

Susan Ernst Earl C Restine, Jr Royal Electric Construction Corp Fuller Electric

Columbus, Ohio San Diego, California

Glenn W Kingsbury David I Samuels

Boston Chapter, NECA Robert B Samuels, Inc Boston, Massachusetts New York, New York

Jim Laub Steve Washburn

Cache Valley Electric Puget Sound Chapter, NECA

Logan, Utah Seattle, Washington

Terry Lette James Young

Preferred Electric Company, Inc Young Electric Company Charlotte, North Carolina San Francisco, California

Lindsay Mills Russ Zimmerman
John Mills Electric Romanoff Electric
Elmira Heights, New York Toledo, Ohio

Letters of notification and congratulation from Chairman Quebe were mailed immediately following the Board of Directors meeting. The mailing included an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in Boston, MA for their installation ceremony into the Academy on October 8, 2016 at the Opening General Session.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

Chairman Quebe thanked the following Fellows for their service to the Board of Directors from 2014 to 2016: Mel Buttrum ('06); David Dickey ('04); Tim Gauthier ('98) and John Negro ('07). Quebe introduced the Chairman of the Nominating Committee, David Hardt ('07).

Hardt reported on the proposed slate of candidates for three-year terms on the Board of Directors (from 2017 through 2019).

Art Ashley ('04) Mark Huston ('14) Ron Autrey ('07) Jody Shea ('13)

There being no additional nominations from the floor, the above slate was elected upon motion duly made and seconded.

NECA ACTIVITY REPORT

David Hardt ('07), President of NECA, discussed current activities and initiatives at NECA.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS

The following papers were presented and are available on the Academy's website:

Cultivating Safety through Community: Training and Best Practices of the Electrical Transmission and Distribution Partnership by Wilson M Yancey, Jr ('15)

Net Zero and Beyond: Utilizing Your Training Facility as a Business Development Tool by Jim Willson ('14)

FUTURE MEETINGS

Chairman Quebe announced that the next gathering of the Academy is a reception during the NECA Convention in Boston. It is scheduled for Saturday October 8, 2016 at the Edward M Kennedy Institute. He also announced that the next Annual meeting of the Academy is June 8-10, 2017 at the Four Seasons Resort in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Sites for the 2018 meeting are under review. The 2019 meeting will be at the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City, Canada from June 12-14.

Mike Thompson ('92) presented information about opportunities in the Jackson Hole area, including a post meeting trip to Yellowstone National Park.

SPEAKER

Chairman Quebe introduced the guest speaker, University of North Carolina Men's Basketball Coach, Roy Williams talked about *Motivating Your Team*. He described his childhood in the Asheville area and the importance of teachers in his life. He talked about goal setting and the importance of competition. His remarks were well received.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

J. Michael Thompson

Muhail Though

Secretary