The Academy of Electrical Contracting General Meeting Minutes June 7, 2014

Four Seasons Biltmore, Santa Barbara, California

Rex A. Ferry ('02), Chairman

J. Michael Thompson ('92), Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Ferry called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m. Wally Hook ('12) offered an invocation and Howard Hughes ('93) led the Pledge of Allegiance.

WELCOME TO NEW FELLOWS

The following Fellows were attending their first annual meeting and were welcomed:

Orvil M Anthony, Jr ('13)

Eric D Aschinger ('13)

Brad Butler ('13)

Darrell G Gossett ('13)

Leonard E Lynch ('13)

Traci M Pickus ('13)

B David Roberts ('13)

Clayton M Scharff ('13)

Frank E Schetter ('13)

Jody Shea ('13)

Michael McPhee ('13)

Marvin Nelson ('13)

Donald L Turner ('13)

Bradley R Weir ('13)

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 15, 2013 General Meeting held in Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia were approved as distributed.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary Thompson requested a moment of silence for those **Fellows deceased** since the last meeting:

Frank H Bertke ('76)

Norman J Houde ('89)

Stanley D Kahn ('88)

James D Mitchell ('97)

George E Sumrow, Jr ('94)

Joseph A (Jack) Verrett, Jr ('88)

William "Mickey" McGuire ('88)

Thompson reported that NECA's Board of Governors approved the 2013 recommendation from the Academy's Board of Directors to revise the Rules of the Academy. A copy of the current Rules was given to each Fellow in attendance.

Thompson also reported on the action by the Board of Directors in approving Fellows for the transfer from Active to Emeritus status:

Gregg Eisenhardt ('08) Daniel F Palmer ('11)

He also reported on the approval of requests to transfer the following Fellows from Emeritus back to Active status.

Richard Nogleberg ('02) Frederic B Sargent ('81)

All changes are effective immediately.

JURY REPORT

Rex Ferry ('02), Acting Chairman of the **Jury of Fellows**, reported on the election of the following fifteen candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors as a result of their unanimous approval at two consecutive reviews by the Jury of Fellows:

Craig Clark Todd Mikec

Dynalectric-Colorado Lighthouse Electric Company Lakewood, Colorado Canonsburg, Pennsylvania

Johnny Dyke Mark Nemshick

D C Electric Company Chicago & Cook County Chapter, NECA
Benton, Kentucky Westchester, Illinois

Paul Guarrancino Jeff Ohman

J M Electrical Company Inc Minneapolis Chapter, NECA Lynnfield, Massachusetts St Louis Park, Minnesota

Tim Homer Rocky Sharp
Wasatch Electric Madsen Electric
Salt Lake City, Utah Tacoma, Washington

Mark Huston Edward Shikany
Lone Star Electric Sweney Electric Company Inc
Fort Worth, Texas Merrillville, Indiana

Fort Worth, Texas Merrillville, Indiana

Michael Joyce Thomas F Thierheimer

Zenith Systems LLC Britain Electric Company

Bedford Heights, Ohio Houston, Texas

Blair Mahan Jim Willson

Benson Electric Company Los Angeles County Chapter, NECA Superior, Wisconsin Pasadena, California

Superior, Wisconsin Pasadena, Califorr
Thomas McClure

Letters of notification and congratulation from Chairman Ferry were mailed immediately following the Board of Directors meeting. The mailing included an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in Chicago, IL for their installation ceremony into the Academy on September 28, 2014 at the Opening General Session.

NECA ACTIVITY REPORT

McClure Electric Inc San Francisco, California

Dennis Quebe ('06), President of NECA, discussed current activities and initiatives at NECA.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

As Chairman of the Nominating Committee, Quebe reported on the proposed slate of candidates for three-year terms on the Board of Directors (from 2015 through 2017).

Chairman Ferry thanked the following Fellows for their service to the Board of Directors from 2012 to 2014: Jim Abbott ('06); Gloria Ashford ('07); Jim McGlynn ('98) and Walter Parkes ('91).

Stan Lazarian ('05) Greg Rick ('12)
Tony Maloney ('12) Dan Schaeffer ('09)

There being no additional nominations from the floor, the above slate was elected upon motion duly made and seconded.

INTERNATIONAL STUDY MISSION

Geoff Robertson provided some background on NECA's International Study Mission program and discussed how the Academy might "partner" with this program. Academy Fellows will be asked to participate in a survey this summer.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS

The following papers were presented and are available on the Academy's website:

What Do We Really Sell In Today's Business World by Greg Stewart ('08)

Welcome Gentlemen . . . And Lady: A Look at Our Industry Through A Woman's Eye by Gloria Ashford ('07)

FUTURE MEETINGS

Chairman Ferry announced that the next gathering of the Academy is a reception during the NECA Convention in Chicago, IL. It is scheduled for Sunday September 28, 2014 at the Union League Club. He also announced that the next Annual meeting of the Academy is June 11-13, 2015 at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in Stowe, Vermont.

David MacKay ('05) presented information about opportunities in the Stowe area.

SPEAKER

Chairman Ferry introduced the guest speaker, Monty Roberts, (the man who listens to horses) who has authored a number of best-selling books based upon his life with horses. He was appalled at the method used to "break" horses and developed a method whereby horses will accept saddle and rider. He calls his technique "Join Up".

Roberts' message was: "Trust and commitment work; when fear and force don't work".

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

J. Michael Thompson

Secretary

Muhal Though