# The Academy of Electrical Contracting **General Meeting Minutes** June 11, 2011

## The Greenbrier, White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia

## E. Milner Irvin, III ('98), Chairman

J. Michael Thompson ('92), Secretary

### CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Irvin called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

### **MINUTES**

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 6, 2010 General Session held at the Ponte Vedra Resort in Ponte Vedra, Florida were approved as distributed.

### MOMENT OF SILENCE

A moment of silence was observed for those Fellows deceased since the last meeting:

H. D. "Buz" Allison ('89) Francis, J. (Bud) Hoch ('86) Donald Cates ('76) Mark W. Hughes ('86) Johnnie Derrick ('95) Donald W. Leslie ('81) Curtis A. Given ('95) James L. Malone ('80) William J. (Bill) Hicks ('99) Neil Tuttle ('97)

### **JURY REPORT**

Milner Irvin ('98), Acting Chairman of the **Jury of Fellows**, reported on the election of the following seven candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors as a result of their unanimous approval at two consecutive readings by the Jury of Fellows:

**Gregory Davis** Bradley S. Giles Bob Davis Electric Company Inc

Giles Electric Company Shreveport, Louisiana South Daytona, Florida

Thomas Driscoll Thomas Ispas

E.S. Boulos Company Daniel's Electrical Construction Co. Inc.

Westbrook, Maine Fontana, California

Charles Ewton Thomas G. Moore, Jr. Lawson Electric Company J P Rainey & Company Inc Chattanooga, Tennessee Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

John S. Frantz

Sidney, Ohio

Sidney Electrical Company

Letters of notification and congratulation from Chairman Irvin were mailed immediately following the Board of Directors meeting. The mailing included an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in San Diego for their installation ceremony into the Academy on October 23, 2011 at the Opening General Session.

### FOUNDATION REPORT

Russ Alessi, ELECTRI International President, reported on the recent developments and current status of ELECTRI International - The Foundation for Electrical Construction. He acknowledged the Academy's role in establishing the foundation and acknowledged that many Academy Fellows have served as ELECTRI Council Chairmen and have supported the research and education efforts.

# WORKING GROUP PROGRAM REPORT

Program Chairman Bob Bruce ('03) reported on the activities of the Working Group Program. Karl Borgstrom, PhD was the facilitator regarding the Mentoring and Contractor 101 initiative. Many Fellows indicated they would like to participate in the program being coordinated under NECA's Management Education Institute (MEI).

## REQUESTS FOR FELLOW EMERITUS STATUS

Secretary Thompson reported on the action by the Board of Directors in approving Fellows for the transfer to Fellow Emeritus:

George Brestle ('95)	Robert L. Gotham ('05)	Robert V Rydalch ('01)
Richard L. Burns ('91)	Normand J Houde ('89)	Frederic B. Sargent ('81)
Stephen E Chilton ('92)	Clyde J. Jones ('98)	Gordon L Seaman Sr ('97)
James R Cleveland Jr. ('95)	Douglas W Keith ('02)	Tom G Smith ('03)
William A Collins ('75) of	Richard E. Landers ('01)	James B Stouffer ('96)
John J. Comstock, Sr. ('99)	Roland Larson ('07)	D Harold Ware ('77)
Ronald A Cooper ('04)	Harris G Mahan ('01)	Albert G Wendt ('85)
Andrew R. Dahlman ('04)	Robert May ('04)	Craig E. Whitney ('00)
James L. Davis, Jr. ('04)	John L. Mussell ('92)	Ted C. Williams ('94)
Jim F. Dew ('07)	Dennis F Nelson ('00)	Richard A. Wine ('88)
William T. Divane, Jr. ('95)	James C Pavelec ('04)	Joe Wolfe Jr ('00)
Terry Fleming ('03)	Richard R Pieper Sr ('99)	Thomas H Wood ('87)
Charles L Fuellgraf Jr ('01)	David A. Raspolich ('00)	
John R Fuqua ('98)	Michael G. Ridgell ('03)	

## **NECA ACTIVITY REPORT**

Rex Ferry, President of NECA, discussed current activities and initiatives at NECA.

### **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

Dennis Quebe, as Chairman of the Nominating Committee, reported on the proposed slate of candidates for three-year terms on the Board of Directors (from 2012 through 2014):

Jim Abbott ('06) Jim McGlynn ('98) Gloria Ashford ('07) Walter Parkes ('91)

There being no additional nominations from the floor, the above slate was elected upon motion duly made and seconded.

## **FUTURE MEETINGS**

The Academy reception at the NECA Convention is scheduled for Sunday October 23, 2011 at Evans Garage in San Diego. Chairman Irvin announced that the next Annual meeting of the Academy will be held June 7-9, 2012 at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Jim Peterson ('96) presented information about opportunities in Colorado Springs.

### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS

The following papers were presented to the Fellows:

Peer Group 2: Building Relationships to Build the Industry by John Negro ('99), Craig Martin ('09) and Bill Powell ('09)

NECA Chapter Executive from a Contractor's Perspective by Don Campbell ('02)

These papers are available on NECA's website.

### **SPEAKER**

Chairman Irvin introduced the guest speaker, Louis Zamperini, the subject of the current best-selling book *Unbroken: A Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption*. Zamperini was a runner at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin. Later his plane went down in the Pacific where he survived 47 days in a life raft until he landed on Japanese-occupied soil. His survival continued for 2½ years as a Japanese POW. He returned home after the end of the WW II and encountered a young Billy Graham who changed his life and enabled a return to Japan to forgive his captors. At 94, Louis captivated everyone.

Zamperini was accompanied by John Naber, a fellow Southern Cal Olympian.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

J. Michael Thompson Secretary