The Academy of Electrical Contracting General Meeting Minutes June 15, 2023 The Cliff House, Cape Neddick, ME

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

Traci M. Walker ('13), Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 8:00 am. Max Landon ('98) led the Fellows in the Pledge of Allegiance.

WELCOME TO NEW FELLOWS

Chairman Hardt welcomed those Fellows attending their first Academy meeting.

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 10, 2022, General Meeting held in Coeur d'Alene, ID were approved as distributed.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary Walker requested a moment of silence for the following six Fellows who passed away since the 2022 Annual Meeting:

Stephen E. Chilton ('92) Richard E. Manrod ('95)
Russell W. Fesler ('89) Robert V. Rydalch ('01)
Robert L. Harrison ('92) Dan A. Shine ('89)

Walker reported on the action taken by the Board of Directors to change Article II, Section 3 (a) of the Rules of the Academy. Section 3 outlines the election procedures and indicates that the election of a nominee to the Academy shall be by unanimous vote of the Jury of Fellows and must have been conducted at two annual meetings. The change that was approved eliminates the two annual meetings requirement – a nominee would need only one unanimous vote by the Jury and could be installed the following Fall. Proper notice was given to all directors and the Board voted by ballot vote according to the Rules of the Academy. The change to the rules is pending approval by NECA's Board of Governors, at their September meeting in Philadelphia. This action would be effective for future nominees, not those considered by the Jury at this meeting.

Walker also reported on the action by the Board of Directors in approving twelve Fellows for the transfer from Active to Emeritus status effective immediately:

Wes Anderson ('16)

Ron Autrey ('07)

Mike Doyle ('18)

Ray Friend ('06)

Jim Mackey ('02)

Blair Mahan ('14)

Craig Martin ('09)

Shawn Murphy ('17)

Fred Sargent ('81)

George Troutman ('06)

Don Turner ('13)

Clyde Wetsch ('18)

JURY REPORT

Dennis F. Quebe ('06), Chairman of the **Jury of Fellows**, reported on the election of the following seven candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors because of their unanimous approval at two consecutive reviews by the Jury of Fellows:

Ricky Ellington

Georgia Chapter, NECA

J.M. Clayton Construction Company

Thomaston, GA

James J. Ferry II

Western Pennsylvania Chapter, NECA

Ferry Electric Company

Pittsburgh, PA

Michael J. Holmes

Puget Sound Chapter, NECA

Holmes Electric Co

Kent, WA

Rvan Landon

Oregon-Columbia Chapter, NECA

McCoy Electric Company

North Plains, OR

Anthony B. Mulizio

Northeastern Illinois Chapter, NECA

Preferred Electric Bloomingdale, IL

Gregory L. Outsen

Eastern Illinois Chapter, NECA

Outsen Electric, Inc.

Kankakee, IL

Chase Pendergraft

East Tennessee Chapter, NECA

Chattanooga, TN

Text messages on behalf of Chairman Hardt, notifying those selected, will be sent following the Board of Directors meeting. Confirming letters of congratulation will be mailed to each new Fellow and will include an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in Philadelphia, PA for their installation ceremony into the Academy on Saturday, September 30, 2023, at the Opening General Session.

ACADEMY PRESENTATIONS

The following were presented and are available on the Academy's website:

Growth Mindset in Today's Electrical Contractor Sonja Rheaume ('16)

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

Chairman Hardt thanked the following Fellows for their service to the Board of Directors from 2021 to 2023: Tom Parkes ('17); Clay Scharff ('13); Duane Seifert ('15) and Paul Yesbeck ('18). Hardt introduced Traci Walker, Secretary of the Nominating Committee who reported that the following candidates were nominated for a three-year term on the Board of Directors (from 2024 through 2026).

Scott Bringmann ('09)

Joe Kaluhiokalani ('22) Mike Weaver ('21)

Henry Brown ('21)

` ,

There being no additional nominations from the floor, the above slate of candidates was elected upon motion duly made and seconded.

FUTURE MEETINGS

Chairman Hardt announced that the next gathering of the Academy will be a reception for Academy Fellows and guests during the NECA Convention in Philadelphia, PA. New Fellows will be installed on Saturday morning, September 30, 2023, at the Opening General Session and the Academy reception will be held at The Bellevue Hotel that evening.

The 2024 annual meeting will be at The Sun Valley Resort in Sun Valley, ID from June 5-7.

Traci Walker presented a video highlighting the opportunities awaiting us in Sun Valley for next year's annual meeting.

SPEAKER

Our speaker, Mike Eruzione, Olympic Legend, delivered some inspiring remarks and discussed the importance of pride, commitment and most importantly, **respect**. He also reminded us to always search for the positives and not dwell on the negatives.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:50 am.

Traci M. Walker

May M. Walk

Secretary