The Academy of Electrical Contracting Board of Directors Meeting Minutes June 14, 2023 The Cliff House, Cape Neddick, ME

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

Traci M. Walker ('13), Secretary

ROLL CALL AND INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 10:15 a.m. with the following present *(italics indicate those members not in attendance)*:

Present NECA Officers and Past NECA Presidents

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman H. E. Autrey ('73) D. R. Borden, Jr. ('88) Craig Clark ('14) William B. Cook, Jr. ('96) Kirk Davis ('11) Robert E. Doran III ('81) Charles W. Fairchild II ('23) Rex A. Ferry ('02) Stephen Gianotti ('20) Mark Harasha ('22) E. Milner Irvin III ('92) Donald G. Laffoon ('20) Terry J. Lette ('16) Steve Lindley ('22) David Long ('12) Gregory D. Long ('18) Steven M. Petri ('22) Dennis F. Quebe ('06) Shawn P. Smith ('21) Traci M. Walker ('13) Mark Walter ('22) David M. Washebek ('20)

Fellows Elected to the Board

Term Expires in 2023

Term Expires in 2024

Tom Parkes ('17) *Clayton M. Scharff ('13)* Duane A. Seifert ('15) Paul J. Yesbeck ('18)

Wes Anderson ('16) Michael B. Joyce ('14) Rilo Stephens ('17) James M. Willson ('14)

Term Expires in 2025

John M. Grau ('86) Todd Mikec ('14) Earl Restine, Jr. ('16) Jody Shea ('13)

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 9, 2022, Board of Directors meeting at the Coeur d'Alene Resort in Coeur d'Alene, ID were approved as distributed.

JURY OF FELLOWS REPORT

Dennis F. Quebe ('06), Chairman of the **Jury of Fellows**, reported on the election of the following seven candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors because of their unanimous approval at two consecutive reviews by the Jury of Fellows:

Ricky Ellington Georgia Chapter, NECA J.M. Clayton Construction Company Thomaston, GA

James J. Ferry II Western Pennsylvania Chapter, NECA Ferry Electric Company Pittsburgh, PA

Michael J. Holmes Puget Sound Chapter, NECA Holmes Electric Co Kent, WA Anthony B. Mulizio Northeastern Illinois Chapter, NECA Preferred Electric Bloomingdale, IL

Gregory L. Outsen Eastern Illinois Chapter, NECA Outsen Electric, Inc. Kankakee, IL

Chase Pendergraft East Tennessee Chapter, NECA Chattanooga, TN

Ryan Landon Oregon-Columbia Chapter, NECA McCoy Electric Company North Plains, OR

Text messages on behalf of Chairman Hardt, notifying those selected, will be sent following the Board of Directors meeting. Confirming letters of congratulation will be mailed to each new Fellow and will include an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in Philadelphia, PA for their installation ceremony into the Academy on Saturday, September 30, 2023, at the Opening General Session.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved the seven nominees for induction into the Academy on Saturday, September 30, 2023, in Philadelphia, PA at the Opening General Session of the NECA Convention.

In addition to those favorably reviewed for the second time at this meeting, the Jury also reviewed 22 nominations for their first reading. Ten nominations were approved, and they will be reviewed at next year's meeting for the required second approval.

SECRETARY'S REPORT ACTION ON REQUESTS FOR FELLOW EMERITUS STATUS

Academy Secretary, Traci Walker, reported that the following twelve Fellows have requested Fellow Emeritus Status:

Wes Anderson ('16) Ron Autrey ('07) Mike Doyle ('18) Ray Friend ('06) Jim Mackey ('02) Blair Mahan ('14)

Craig Martin ('09) Shawn Murphy ('17) Fred Sargent ('81) George Troutman ('06) Don Turner ('13) Clyde Wetsch ('18) Upon motion made and duly seconded, these twelve Fellows were approved for a change to Emeritus status effective immediately.

CHANGES TO ACADEMY RULES

In accordance with Article VIII, Secretary Walker reported on the suggested amendment to Article II, Section 3 (a) of the *Rules of the Academy*. In accordance with the *Rules*, information about this amendment was sent to all directors on May 24 advising of the impending action at the meeting.

Rules of the Academy of Electrical Contracting Article II Fellowship in the Academy Sec. 3 Election Procedures

Existing Language

Each nomination for Fellowship shall be reviewed and acted upon by the Jury of Fellows, a committee of twelve Fellows of the Academy. Election of a nominee to Fellowship in the Academy shall be by:

(a) vote of the Jury of Fellows (which vote must be unanimous and must have been conducted at two Annual Meetings of the Jury of Fellows) and

(b) subsequent approval, by majority vote of the Board of Directors.

Proposed Language

Each nomination for Fellowship shall be reviewed and acted upon by the Jury of Fellows, a committee of twelve Fellows of the Academy. Election of a nominee to Fellowship in the Academy shall be by:

(a) vote of the Jury of Fellows (which vote must be unanimous and must have been conducted at two Annual Meetings of the Jury of Fellows) and

(b) subsequent approval, by majority vote of the Board of Directors.

Upon motion made and duly discussed (and a ballot vote taken), the motion to amend Article II, Section 3 (a) was adopted unanimously, and the new language will be recommended for approval to the NECA Board of Governors via an Ordinary Proposal in Philadelphia, PA this fall.

FELLOWS NO LONGER WITH THE ACADEMY

Secretary Walker reported that the following six Fellows have passed away since the 2022 Annual Meeting:

Stephen E. Chilton ('92)	
Russell W. Fesler ('89)	
Robert L. Harrison ('92)	

Richard E. Manrod ('95) Robert V. Rydalch ('01) Dan A. Shine ('89)

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Hardt introduced Traci Walker, Secretary of the Nominating Committee, who reported that the following candidates were nominated for a three-year term on the Board of Directors (from 2024 through 2026).

Scott Bringmann ('09)	Joe Kaluhiokalani ('22)
Henry Brown ('21)	Mike Weaver ('21)

FUTURE MEETINGS

The Chairman reported on the schedule of future meetings as follows:

Convention Reception

The Bellevue Hotel (Rose Garden Room) Philadelphia, PA September 30, 2023

Summer Meeting

The Sun Valley Resort Sun Valley, Idaho June 5 to 7, 2024

OTHER NEW BUSINESS

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:00 am.

havi M. Walk

Traci M. Walker Secretary