# The Academy of Electrical Contracting **General Meeting Minutes** June 10, 2022

# The Coeur d'Alene Resort, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

Traci M. Walker ('13), Secretary

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 8:00 am. Gloria Ashford ('07) led the Fellows in the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **WELCOME TO NEW FELLOWS**

Chairman Hardt welcomed those Fellows attending their first Academy meeting.

### **MINUTES**

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the October 8, 2021 General Meeting held in Nashville, TN were approved as distributed.

### SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary Walker requested a moment of silence for the following four Fellows who passed away since the 2019 Annual Meeting:

James F. Dew ('07) Leo J. McMillan ('97)

John H. Kohnen ('87) Joseph A. "Tony" Walsh ('91)

Walker reported on the action by the Board of Directors in approving four Fellows for the transfer from **Active to Emeritus status** effective immediately:

John M. Gueldner ('92) Eric D. Aschinger ('13) Robert A. "Bobby" Corbo ('04) David I. Samuels (16)

## **JURY REPORT**

Dennis F. Quebe ('06), Chairman of the Jury of Fellows, reported on the election of the following seven candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors because of their unanimous approval at two consecutive reviews by the Jury of Fellows:

Anthony (Tony) Cook James R. Hess **Edwin Lopez** 

Atlanta Chapter, NECA Oregon Pacific-Cascade New York City Chapter, NECA

UpTime Electric Company Chapter, NECA New York, NY

College Park, GA Pacific Electrical Contractors, Inc. Bruce D. Shelly Medford, OR

Penn-Del-Jersey Chapter, NECA Christopher M. Foster Atlanta Chapter, NECA Shelly Electric Company, Inc.

**Paul Kosmides** Whitehead Electric Company Philadelphia, PA

Minneapolis Chapter, NECA Mableton, GA

OlympiaTech Electric

Duane J. Hendricks Plymouth, MN

Minneapolis Chapter, NECA **Egan Company** Brooklyn Park, MN

Text messages on behalf of Chairman Hardt, notifying those selected, were sent following the Board of Directors meeting. Confirming letters of congratulation will be mailed to each new Fellow and will include an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in Austin, TX for their installation ceremony into the Academy on October 16, 2022 at the Opening General Session.

#### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS

The following papers were presented and are available on the Academy's website:

| It Could Happen to Anyone: Malware, Ransomware Attacks and     |                   |
|--|-------------------|
| Protecting Your Company  | Kent Baker ('92)  |
| Participation Breeds Participation: A Route to Greater Profits | Jerry Hayes ('12) |
| Forty Years an ESOP  | Brad Weir ('13)   |

#### **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

Chairman Hardt thanked the following Fellows for their service to the Board of Directors from 2020 to 2022: Jerry Hayes ('12); Skip Perley ('06); Dan Walsh ('12) and Dan Walter ('02). Hardt introduced Traci Walker, Secretary of the Nominating Committee who reported that the following candidates were nominated for a three-year term on the Board of Directors (from 2023 through 2025).

John Gau ('86) Earl Restine ('16) Todd Mikec ('14) Jody Shea ('13)

There being no additional nominations from the floor, the above slate of candidates was elected upon motion duly made and seconded.

### **FUTURE MEETINGS**

Chairman Hardt announced that the next gathering of the Academy will be a reception for Academy Fellows and guests during the NECA Convention in Austin, TX. New Fellows will be installed on Sunday morning, October 16, 2022 at the General Session and the Academy reception will be held at The Austin Club that evening.

The 2023 annual meeting will be at The Cliff House in Cape Neddick, ME from June 13-15.

Traci Walker presented a video highlighting the opportunities awaiting us in Maine for next year's annual meeting.

## **SPEAKER**

Our speaker, Roy Spence, Cofounder and Chairman of GSD&M delivered some inspiring remarks and discussed the Power of Purpose.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 am.

Traci M. Walker

hay M. Walk

Secretary