The Academy of Electrical Contracting Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Wednesday, June 3, 2020 Virtual Meeting

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

John M. Grau ('86), Secretary

ROLL CALL AND INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. with the following present (*italics indicate those members* **not** *in attendance*):

Present NECA Officers and Past NECA Presidents

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman	Robert E. Doran III ('81)	Dennis F. Quebe ('06)
Wes Anderson ('16)	Rex A. Ferry (′02)	Vincent Real ('17)
H. E. Autrey ('73)	E. Milner Irvin III ('92)	Earl Restine, Jr. (16)
Larry Beltramo ('17)	David Long ('12)	Gregory A. Rick ('12)
D. R. Borden, Jr. ('88)	Jim McDonald ('16)	Jody Shea ('13)
Scott Bringmann (09)	Michael E. McPhee ('13)	Traci M. Walker ('13)
William B. Cook, Jr. ('96)	Todd Mikec ('14)	Leo Weber ('85)
Kirk Davis ('11)	David Nielsen ('19)	

Elected Directors

Terms Expiring 2020	Terms Expiring 2021	Terms Expiring 2022
David Pinter ('08)	Larry Cogburn ('09)	Jerry Hayes ('12)
Greg Stewart ('08)	Craig Martin ('09)	Skip Perley ('06)
Brad Weir ('13)	Doug Martin ('15)	Dan Walsh ('12)
Jim Young ('16)	Sonja Rheaume ('16)	Daniel G. Walter ('02)

Others Present

John M. Grau, Secretary of the Academy Diane S. Jacobson, Academy Administrator

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 14, 2019 Board of Directors meeting in Quebec City, Canada were approved as distributed.

JURY OF FELLOWS REPORT

As Jury Chairman Dennis F. Quebe was unable to attend the meeting, Secretary John Grau reported on the activities of the Jury and recommended favorable action on the following thirteen nominees for Fellowship into the Academy of Electrical Contracting. Their nominations have been reviewed at two consecutive meetings of the Jury and they have received unanimous votes on both occasions:

James D. Bane

Mon Valley Electric, Inc. Pleasant Valley, WV

Matthew B. Cappadonna Mid-West Electric Company

Houston, TX

Stephen Gianotti

Arcadia Electrical Company

Ridgewood, NY

James T. Giorgio, Sr.

B & G Electrical Contractors of NY, Inc.

N Amityville, NY

Daniel J. Hahn, Sr. Furness Electric Co, Inc.

Wilmington, DE

Timothy R. McBride

Southern Contracting Company

San Marcos, CA

Eric F. Nixon

Maron Electric Company

Skokie, IL

Victor Salerno

O'Connell Electric Company

Victor, NY

Harry J. Sassaman

Forest Electric Corporation – New Jersey

Edison, NJ

James A. Thiele BW Systems

Colorado Springs, CO

Ernie B. Ulibarri Barri Electric San Francisco, CA

David M. Washebek

Lemberg Electric Company, Inc.

Brookfield, WI

David A. Witz

Continental Electrical Construction

Company Oak Brook, IL

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved the 13 nominees for induction into the Academy on Sunday, October 4, 2020 in Chicago, IL at the opening General Session of the NECA Convention.

During the Jury meeting, only the Second Approval Nominations were considered. It is the intent of Chairman Quebe to schedule an in-person meeting of the Jury during the NECA Convention in Chicago to consider First Approval Nominations.

It was felt that it was important to act now on the Second Approval Nominations to allow new Fellows to be inducted into the Academy at the ceremony this fall in Chicago. Also discussed, was the importance of having a more in-depth consideration of first approval nominations, which is best conducted in person. We believe the NECA Convention this fall is the best opportunity to schedule that meeting.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

Grau reported on activities of the Academy since the last meeting. He noted the success of the new email process for the Annual Registration of Fellows in contrast to the former mailed form. He also reported on quality issues regarding the Academy medals and noted that a new

manufacturer has been selected for future production. He thanked the NECA meetings team for their work in cancelling and rebooking the Annual Meeting in Coeur d'Alene as well as Academy Administrator Diane Jacobson for her day to day management of Academy matters.

ACTION ON REQUESTS FOR FELLOW EMERITUS STATUS

The following Fellow has requested Fellow Emeritus Status:

Francis Marcotte ('17)

Upon motion made and duly seconded, this Fellow was approved for a change to Emeritus status effective immediately.

FELLOWS NO LONGER WITH THE ACADEMY

Grau reported that the following ten Fellows have passed away since the 2019 Annual Meeting:

William G. Dale, Jr. ('95) Joe R. Devish ('75) Donald O. Hawes ('81) Steven Hess ('90) Thomas C. Lloyd ('92) John A. Penney ('00)
Franklin D. Russell ('92)
Allan M. Shapiro ('77)
Robert F. Tipler ('96)
Craig E Whitney ('00)

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Hardt appointed the following Fellows as a **Nominating Committee** to present a slate of candidates to all Fellows at the General Meeting for the Board of Directors terms expiring in 2023:

Larry Beltramo ('17), Chair

Brad Weir ('13)

Greg Stewart ('08)

Traci Walker ('13), Secretary

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Chairman Larry Beltramo reported that the committee met on May 27 and nominated the following slate:

Tom Parkes ('17) of Victor, New York Clay Scharff ('13) of St. Louis, Missouri Duane Seifert ('15) of LaPorte, Indiana Paul Yesbeck ('18) of Weston, Florida

An email ballot will be sent to all Fellows for approval. Chairman Hardt thanked the committee for their service.

FUTURE MEETINGS

The Chairman reported on the schedule of future meetings as follows:

Convention Receptions
Chicago Athletic
Association
Chicago, IL
October 4, 2020

Summer Meeting
The Cliff House
Cape Neddick, ME
June 9-11, 2021

Summer Meeting Coeur d'Alene Resort Coeur d'Alene, ID June 8-10, 2022

TBD

Nashville, TN TBD October 10, 2021

OTHER NEW BUSINESS

John Sha

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:40 am.

John M. Grau ('86)

Secretary