The Academy of Electrical Contracting Board of Directors Meeting Minutes June 14, 2019

Fairmont Chateau Le Frontenac, Quebec City, Canada

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

J. Michael Thompson ('92), Secretary

ROLL CALL AND INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. with the following present (*italics indicate those members* **not** *in attendance*):

Present NECA Officers and Past NECA Presidents

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman	Jim McDonald ('16)
Wes Anderson ('16)	Michael E. McPhee ('13)
H. E. Autrey ('73)	Todd Mikec ('14)
Larry Beltramo ('17)	Dennis F. Quebe ('06)
D. R. Borden, Jr. ('88)	Vincent Real ('17)
Scott Bringmann (09)	Earl Restine, Jr. (16)
William B. Cook, Jr. ('96)	Gregory A. Rick ('12)
Kirk Davis ('11)	Jody Shea ('13)
Robert E. Doran III ('81)	J. Michael Thompson ('92)
Rex A. Ferry ('02)	Traci M. Walker ('13)
John M. Grau ('86)	Daniel G. Walter ('02)
E. Milner Irvin III ('92)	Leo Weber ('85)
David Long ('12)	

Elected Directors

Terms Expiring 2019	Terms Expiring 2020	Terms Expiring 2021
Art Ashley ('04)	David Pinter ('08)	Larry Cogburn ('09)
Ron Autrey ('07)	Greg Stewart ('08)	Craig Martin ('09)
Mark Huston ('14)	Brad Weir ('13)	Doug Martin ('15)
Jody Shea ('13)	Jim Young ('16)	Sonja Rheaume ('16)

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 8, 2018 Board of Directors meeting in Laguna Beach, California were approved as distributed.

JURY OF FELLOWS REPORT

Jury Chairman Dennis F. Quebe reported on the activities of the Jury and recommended favorable action on the following eleven nominees for Fellowship into the Academy of Electrical Contracting. Their nomination forms have been reviewed at two consecutive meetings of the Jury and they have received unanimous votes on both occasions:

Robert Cherry

Osborne Electric Company

Oklahoma City, OK

Bruce A. Creen

Northeastern Illinois Chapter, NECA

West Chicago, IL

William M. Darish

Industrial Electric Co

Detroit, MI

Tracy L. Harness

Northwest Line Constructors Chapter, NECA

Portland, OR

Lewis Maffioli
Wilson Electric Co

Rockford, IL

Marilyn M. Oppedisano

Finger Lakes New York Chapter, NECA

Liverpool, NY

Robert Seanger

Al's Electric of St. Cloud, Inc.

St. Cloud, MN

Hal Sokoloff

H&L Electric

Long Island City, NY

Robert J. Turner, II

Turner Electric Service, Inc.

Dexter, MI

Steven Watts

CSI Electrical Contractors Santa Fe Springs, CA

John C. Wright

Alterman, Inc. San Antonio, TX

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved the 11 nominees for induction into the Academy on Sunday, September 15, 2019 in Las Vegas, NV at the opening General Session of the NECA Convention.

In addition to those favorably reviewed for the second time at this meeting, the Jury also reviewed 16 nominations for their first reading. Fifteen nominations were approved and they will be reviewed at next year's meeting for the required second approval.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

Thompson reported on the continued excellent attendance at our meetings. Even with the changes necessitated by the Fairmont issues which led to a few cancellations, the final count of attendees in Quebec was 113 Fellows and 104 guests; for a total of 217. Last year in Laguna Beach, we had 204 attendees.

ACTION ON REQUESTS FOR FELLOW EMERITUS STATUS

The following 16 Fellows have requested Fellow Emeritus Status:

George Adams ('10) Jim Laub ('16)

Gina Addeo ('13)

Don Leslie, Jr ('15)

Dan Bollin ('08)

Bill Lich ('04)

Brian Christopher ('02)

Tom Curran ('06)

Bob May ('04)

Bill Powell ('09)

Joe Dickey ('89) Alex Owen ('11) Howard Hughes ('93) Gary Whitehead ('97)

E. Milner Irvin ('98)

Upon motion made and duly seconded, these 16 Fellows were approved for a change to Emeritus status effective immediately.

FELLOWS NO LONGER WITH THE ACADEMY

Thompson reported that the following fifteen Fellows have passed away since the 2018 Annual Meeting:

James K. Baker ('80) John C. Malone ('87) Clyde E. Beimfohr ('78) Charles E. Mink, Jr ('97) Gene S. Duckworth ('99) Richard A. Parenti ('15) Fred B. Dunn ('89) Anthony L. Shreve ('94) Herbert P. Spiegel ('90) Francis X. Gleeson ('93) Wesley S. Harkonen ('96) Michael H. Walker ('95) Eugene K. Kasal ('88) Thomas H. Wood ('87)

Harris G. "Sandy" Mahan ('01)

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Hardt appointed the following Fellows as a Nominating Committee to present a slate of candidates to all Fellows at the General Meeting for the Board of Directors terms expiring in 2022:

Larry Beltramo ('17), Chair Craig Martin ('09) Ron Autrey ('07) John Grau ('86), Secretary

FUTURE MEETINGS

The Chairman reported on the schedule of future meetings as follows:

Convention Receptions Summer Meeting Coeur d'Alene Resort **SkyFall Lounge** Coeur d'Alene, ID Las Vegas, NV September 15, 2019 June 4-6, 2020

TBD

Chicago, IL TBD October 4, 2020

OTHER NEW BUSINESS

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:18 am.

J. Michael Thompson ('92)

Secretary