We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

News Archive

OSHA Issues Final Rule on Crane Operator Certification Requirements

Nov 09, 2018

Final Rule Becomes Effective Monday Dec. 10

The Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has published the final rule for Crane Operators Certification Requirements that will become effective on December 10, 2018. This rule can be viewed and downloaded here, https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2018/11/09/2018-24481/cranes-and-derricks-in-construction-operator-qualification.

The existing rule required certification by crane type and lifting capacity. However, the new rule now clarifies that OSHA will accept crane operator certifications issued by “type” only, or by “type and capacity”. The revised rule still requires that the certification/licensing requirement options that are listed in the standard include third party certification or an audited employer certification program in addition to any local or state operator licensing requirements.

The Electrical Industry Certification Association (EICA) has developed three crane operator certifications in response to OSHA certification requirements addressing digger derricks, rotating-control telescoping cranes and stationary telescoping cranes. These ANSI accredited certifications meet the certification requirements listed in the original and updated standard.

If an employer has not yet conducted the operator evaluation, that employer will have to conduct and document an operator evaluation to fully comply with this new rule. If the Employer has evaluated their operators prior to December 10, 2018, they will not be required to conduct those evaluations again. The evaluation and documentation requirements will become effective on February 7, 2019.

About the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA)

NECA is the voice of the $160 billion electrical construction industry that brings power, light and communication technology to buildings and communities across the U.S. NECA’s national office and 119 local chapters advance the industry through advocacy, education, research and standards development. Go to www.necanet.org for more information.

About the Electrical Industry Certification Association (EICA)

EICA is a nonprofit organization founded in 2014 to promote responsible awareness through certification programs regarding safe and effective practices in the electrical industry. Its goal is to provide effective, valid and fair assessments that raise the standard of excellence for personnel engaged in the varied aspects of the electrical industry.

About the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA’s role is to help ensure these conditions for America’s working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. Visit www.osha.gov for more information.