We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

News Archive

NECA Announces 2018 National Award Winners

Jun 18, 2018

The National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) has named an esteemed group of leaders in the electrical construction industry as 2018 national award recipients.

NECA will honor the following recipients at NECA 2018 Philadelphia, which will be held Sept. 29-Oct. 2, for their outstanding contributions:

  • Coggeshall Award: Jim Olliges
  • Comstock Award: Edward Witt Jr.
  • James H. McGraw Award: Skip Perley
  • Robert L. Higgins Association Executive Distinguished Service Award: Jeffrey P. Scarpello
  • Abraham Lincoln Leadership Award: Paul J. Yesbeck
  • NECA Industry Partner Award: Southwire

“NECA is incredibly proud to recognize this year’s national award recipients,” NECA CEO John M. Grau said. “There’s no question they have made a tremendous impact throughout our industry, and I look forward to celebrating their work with them this fall.”

Go to www.necanet.org/awards for more information on NECA’s national awards.

Coggeshall Award

Established in 1956 and name for Allan Coggeshall to honor a NECA member for their contribution to the progress of the industry in the technical and training service field.

Recipient: Jim Olliges (United Electric Co., Louisville, KY) 

Comstock Award

Established in 1959 and named for L.K. Comstock to honor any person for their contribution to the industry through NECA in the field of labor relations.

Recipient: Edward Witt Jr. (Miller Electric Company, Jacksonville, FL)

James H. McGraw Award

Established in 1926 by the McGraw Committee of Awards to honor a person for a contribution to the industry of a new and useful idea or for exceptional performance on the job.

Recipient: Skip Perley (Thompson Electric Company, Sioux City, IA) 

Robert L. Higgins Association Executive Distinguished Service Award

Established in 1989 by NECA’s Board of Governors to honor an executive or chapter manager who has made the greatest contribution to the advancement NECA in a specific year or over a period of time.

Recipient: Jeffrey P. Scarpello (Chapter Manager, Penn-Del-Jersey Chapter)

Abraham Lincoln Leadership Award

Established by NECA in 2017 to honor a NECA member for outstanding achievement in federal, state or local level advocacy engagement.

Recipient: Paul J. Yesbeck (ACUSigns, Miami, FL)

NECA Industry Partner Award

Established in 1996 by NECA’s Executive Committee to honor individuals or organizations allied with the electrical construction industry whose decisions, actions or cooperation with NECA contribute to the industry’s success.

Recipient: Southwire


NECA is the voice of the $160 billion electrical construction industry that brings power, light, and communication technology to buildings and communities across the U.S. NECA’s national office and 119 local chapters advance the industry through advocacy, education, research and standards development.

Visit www.necanet.org/about for more.