We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

About the Committee

The NECA Codes and Standards Committee is involved with development, administration, and enforcement of installation codes, safety standards, product standards, and other related industry regulations. This includes, but is not limited to, the National Electrical Code (NEC®), National Electrical Installation Standards (NEIS™), National Electrical Safety Code (NESC), Various NFPA Standards, UL Safety Standards, and OSHA Regulations. Members of the NECA Codes and Standards Committee serve on National Electrical Code-Making Panels, NEIS Technical Subcommittees, and other standards development committees and subcommittees.


NECA’s role in the standards development process is important to the electrical industry, as it has been for over one hundred years. NECA is the voice of installers and maintainers at the NEC hearings and is a vital part of developing Code rules that are understandable, practical, and enforceable. NECA takes this responsibility very seriously and values the opportunity to serve the industry working with NFPA in the development of the NEC and other key electrical industry standards.

The NECA representatives are appointed to technical committees to represent the interests of the electrical contractor in electrical code and standard development. NECA representatives provide the voice of electrical contractors including installers and maintainers. The NFPA technical committee membership classification of NECA representatives is I/M which stands for Installer/Maintainer. This classification provides representation of entities in the business of installing or maintaining a product, assembly, or system affected by the standard. The NECA representatives are responsible for taking part in the discussions and debates at the meetings and hearings of the committee during the cycle of development. NECA representatives participate in this open consensus process and vote in the best interest of electrical contractors and their employees.

2020 Codes & Standards Committee Roster

  • James McDonald, Chair
    Vice President District 8
    J & M Electric Inc
    Missoula, MT
  • Nathan Philips
    Oregon-Pacific-Cascade Chapter
    Integrated Electronic Systems
    Eugene, OR
  • Adam Ashton
    Northern New Jersey Chapter
    Forest Electric Corporation
    Edison, NJ
  • Steve Poholski
    Michigan Chapter
    Newkirk Electric Associates Inc
    Muskegon, MI
  • Michael Cannady
    Michigan Chapter
    Newkirk Electric Associates Inc
    Muskegon, MI
  • Tony Punzalan
    Connecticut Chapter
    McPhee Electric Ltd
    Farmington, CT
  • Mashell D Carissimi
    Southeastern Michigan Chapter
    JMC Electrical Contractor LLC
    Clinton Township, MI
  • Don Rabel
    Southeast Texas Chapter
    Mid-West Electric Co Inc
    Houston, TX
  • Charles Carter
    Penn-Del-Jersey Chapter
    Riggs Distler & Company, Inc.
    Eddystone, PA
  • Jake Raines
    Inland Empire Chapter
    Sierra Electric Inc
    Pasco, WA
  • Jacob Chouinard
    Idaho Chapter
    Quality Electric Inc
    Boise, ID
  • Harry J Sassaman
    Northern New Jersey Chapter
    Forest Electric Corporation
    Edison, NJ
  • Shane Custer
    South Texas Chapter
    Big State Electric
    San Antonio, TX
  • Timothy J Schultheis II
    Western Pennsylvania Chapter
    Schultheis Electric / TSB Inc
    Latrobe, PA
  • Robert Davies Jr
    San Diego Chapter
    Davies Electric Company Inc
    San Diego, CA
  • Bruce D Shelly
    Pen-Del-Jersey Chapter
    Shelly Electric Company Inc
    Philadelphia, PA
  • Steven Emert
    Santa Clara Valley Chapter
    Rosendin Electric
    San Jose, CA
  • Michael W Smith
    St. Louis Chapter
    Schaeffer Electric Company
    St. Louis, MO
  • Larry Geyer
    Idaho Chapter
    Quality Electric Inc.
    Boise , ID
  • Philip Ostrow
    Central Massachusetts Chapter
    Ostrow Electrical Company Inc
    Worcester, MA
  • Bobby J. Gray
    Inland Empire Chapter
    Hoydar-Buck Inc
    Selah, WA
  • Raymond Smith
    North Florida Chapter
    Cogburn Bros Electric Inc
    Jacksonville, FL
  • Tim Hinson
    North Florida Chapter
    Miller Electric Company
    Jacksonville, FL
  • Clint Summers
    Santa Clara Valley Chapter
    Rosendin Electric
    San Jose, CA
  • Kyle Krueger
    Milwaukee Chapter
    Wauwatosa, WI
  • Richard W Tice
    Mahoning Valley Chapter
    VEC Inc
    Girard, OH
  • Kelly Lamp
    Idaho Chapter
    Boise, ID
  • John Tirone
    South Florida Chapter
    Tirone Electric, Inc.
    Hollywood, FL
  • Haley Masbruch
    Southwest Washington Chapter
    Danard Electric Inc.
    Tacoma, WA
  • Michael P Weaver
    Oregon-Pacific-Cascade Chapter
    M & W Electric Inc
    Albany, OR
  • Scott Masters
    Penn-Del-Jersey Chapter
    Matrix NAC
    Eddystone, PA
  • Jason Wolf
    Iowa Chapter
    ESCO Electric Company
    Marion , IA
  • James McGowan
    Missouri Valley Line Constructors Chapter
    QUANTA Services Inc
    Houston, TX
  • Paul J Yesbeck
    South Florida Chapter
    Acolite Claude United Sign Co
    Weston, FL
  • Fred Neubauer
    Los Angeles County Chapter
    Neubauer Electric Inc
    Garden Grove, CA
  • Michael J Johnston, Secretary
    Executive Director, Standards & Safety
    NECA Inc
    Bethesda, MD
  • Timothy O'Brien
    San Diego County Chapter
    Chula Vista Electric
    Santee, CA
  • Wesley L Wheeler
    Director, Safety
    NECA Inc
    Bethesda, MD
  • Agnieszka Golriz, Assistant Secretary
    Director, Codes and Standards
    NECA Inc
    Bethesda, MD