We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

Abraham Lincoln Leadership Award

NECA established the Abraham Lincoln Leadership Award in 2017. The honor recognizes a NECA Member for their outstanding achievement in federal, state or local advocacy engagement.

Year Recipient Location
2020 Mark J. Mazur Tampa, FL
2019 James J. McGlynn, Sr. Schaumburg, IL
2018 Paul J. Yesbeck Doral, FL

Established by the National Electrical Contractors Association at the NECA 2017 Seattle Convention & Trade Show following official action taken by its Board of Directors on October 7, 2017, this award recognizes a NECA member for outstanding achievement in federal, state or local level advocacy engagement. 


To qualify for this Award, the member shall have engaged in policy or political activities to advance the electrical construction industry. 


  • May be made by any member, Chapter or NECA committee. 
  • Must be received at NECA Headquarters no later than May 1st and should be mailed to the attention of Secretary-Treasurer / NECA, 3 Bethesda Metro Center, #1100, Bethesda, MD 20814 or by e-mail to necagovtaffairs@necanet.org. 
  • Should include a full description of the character of the service performed by the nominee, from which the Committee of Awards can make its determination. 
  • It is the policy of the Executive Committee not to consider current members of the NECA Executive Committee. 


The Committee of Awards will be the NECA Executive Committee. The Committee may, in its discretion, withhold the Award in any year. 


The Award will be announced after the Executive Committee’s decision at their June meeting. This will ensure that the award recipient can enjoy their status, and the respect of their peers, well before the busy Convention.