National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice Of The Electrical Construction Industry

NECA Community

Member Awards & Recognition

Award Winners Recognized

Each year, NECA presents the following awards to members of the Association and the industry in recognition of their outstanding contributions, industry leaders are recognized at the annual convention and trade show.

View 2014 Award Winners:

View Award Winner Archives (by year)

The Coggeshall Award

The Coggeshall Award recognizes a NECA-member contractor adjudged to have made an outstanding contribution to the electrical contracting industry in technical or training activities. Stanley J. Folz, project manager for Morse Electric headquartered in Las Vegas, has earned this honor through his long-time service in the development of the National Electrical Code and other electrical safety standards.
Learn more

The Comstock Award

The Comstock Award, which was established by the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA)’s Board of Governors in 1959 in memory of industry pioneer L.K. Comstock, is the association’s highest honor recognizing contributions in the complex field of labor relations. Rex A. Ferry has earned this honor through contributions made throughout his long and distinguished career but is most revered for outstanding services performed during his time as NECA’s president.
Read More

The McGraw Award

The National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) bestows the James H. McGraw Award upon a person adjudged to have contributed some new or useful idea to the electrical contracting industry or to have performed an industry service over and above normal responsibility to personal or company progress. Stan Lazarian, president of Electric Service & Supply in Pasadena, California, is recognized for his ongoing leadership and for his active participation in creating new business opportunities for electrical contractors.
Read More

The Association Executive Distinguished Service Award

The Association Executive Distinguished Service Award is presented to the staff executive or chapter manager who has made the greatest contribution to the advancement of the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA). Immersed in the electrical contracting industry her entire life, Marilyn Oppedisano has been the heart and soul of NECA’s Finger Lakes New York Chapter for more than two decades, bringing a strong sense of collaboration, consensus, and stability to this group of 29 contracting firms that work with IBEW Locals 43 and 840.
Read More

The Membership Recruitment and Retention Award

The Membership Recruitment and Retention Award was established in 1988 by NECA's national staff to recognize the chapter manager who has done the best job of recruiting eligible members while retaining the existing members during the previous calendar year. The 2014 award was presented to David Manderson.
Read more

The Wendt Award

As the highest tribute bestowed by ELECTRI International, the Wendt Award recognizes exemplary leadership and service to the electrical industry. It is named in honor of the philosophical and financial commitments made to the industry by one of its premier members, the late Albert G. Wendt, former president of Cannon & Wendt Electric in Phoenix, Arizona. Daniel J. Divane IV, 2013-2014 chair of the ELECTRI Council and vice chair on the ELECTRI International board of trustees, has earned this distinction.
Read More

Industry Partner Award

The NECA Industry Partner Award recognizes organizations or individuals that, though not members of the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA), contribute to the electrical contracting industry’s success through their decisions, actions, or cooperation with NECA. The 2014 award pays homage to NECA Premier Partner, Westex by Milliken, the world leader in the manufacture of flame-resistant (FR) fabric, for its long-term and ongoing work with our organization in the pursuit of improved worker safety.
Read more 

Association Executive Institute

The 2015 Chairman is KC Borden, elected at the NECA 2014 Chicago convention & trade show. The Association Executives Institute is an informal, educational organization, which meets annually, usually in March, in the convention city. The first Institute was held in Pittsburgh in July, 1939. Each person employed in an executive or administrative capacity by a NECA chapter, the National Association, including the NJATC and NEBF shall be a member. The Chairman is elected annually by the majority vote of the members present and shall serve until his successor is elected. Learn more at

Safety Awards Program

NECA's Safety Awards include two programs, the Safety Excellence Award, and the Zero-Injury Award. The Zero-Injury Award recognizes those member-companies that have worked a full calendar year without recordable incidents. The Safety Excellence Award is the associations premier recognition program, and acknowledges member-contractors safety performance. Learn more about the awards program >

View archive

Student Chapter of the Year Award (NEW)

NECA created the Student Chapter of the Year awards program to recognize and reward outstanding NECA Student Chapters. Award winners are chapters that consistently promote student activities that provide industry exposure and facilitate interaction between member contractors and students. 
Learn more

  • View a complete listing of NECA's resources and industry information by topic.
  • NECA’s education programs provide innovation, business trends and effective leadership exclusive to electrical contractors.
  • NECA is working every day to ensure you have every opportunity available to stay on top of the issues affecting your business and to be directly in touch with your Senators and your Representative in Congress.
  • NECA communities are member-initiated groups where contractors and industry professionals sharing common interests and business concerns can come together.
  • NECA membership isn’t just about saving your firm time and money; it’s also about helping your company make more money and achieve success!
  • NECA contractors employ the most highly trained and reliable workforce in the industry. They will get your job done right the first time, on time, without disrupting your business.